Is Kindle Wi-Fi or Kindle 3G (Free 3G + Wi-Fi) right for me?

Posted: October 6, 2010 in Kindle 3, Kindle DX, Wi-Fi
Tags: , , ,

Kindle (Wi-Fi)

This is a great choice if you already have a high-speed internet connection and a wireless router set up in your home and do not need the added convenience of a 3G connection.  3G enables you to download books anytime, anywhere, while on the go. If you do not have Wi-Fi set up in your home, Kindle 3G may be a better option.

(Note: Your Kindle can connect to Wi-Fi networks or hotspots that use the 802.11b or 802.11g standard.)

Kindle 3G (Free 3G + Wi-Fi)

This is the easiest option because there is no wireless setup—you are ready to shop, get books, and read right out of the box. Built-in Free 3G connectivity uses the same wireless signals that cell phones use, but there are no monthly fees or commitments—Amazon pays for Kindle’s 3G wireless connectivity.  The added convenience of 3G enables you to download books anytime, anywhere, while on the go—without having to find a Wi-Fi hotspot connection.  With wireless coverage in over 100 countries and territories, Kindle 3G is a great option for travelers

To check the Kindle 3G’s coverage area click here

Comments
  1. N.WylieJones says:

    I love KindleStuff but it drives me crazy to read it. I am a retired teacher on a budget and can’t afford to buy one now. I have been followng Kindle since it first went on sale. I have written 50 or so original Kindle Tweets on Twitter. I can remember a few years ago when 9 out of 10 people I met had never heard of the Kindle. I have seen Jeff Bezos on Charlie Rose many times talking about the Kindle. I can’t believe how many improvements I’ve seen on KindleStuff. My book, The World’s Most Creative (And Dangerous) Quote Book, http://www.knowords.com is about the ingenuity of creative people. One day when I get a Kindle, I will follow KindleStuff. Here are just a few of my Tweets.
    1. “Kindle–First class reading, even in coach.” N. Wylie Jones
    2. “On a cold winter night, I love to Kindle with a good book.”NWJ
    3. “Kindle–books without the weight or the wait.”NWJ
    4. “Kindle–Fall in love with books again–No monthly fees, no killing trees. Kindle.”NWJ
    5. “Kindle–plots on a plane.”NWJ
    6. “Boring -going to Facebook; Not Boring: turn on a Kindle to face a book.”NWJ
    7. “Jump a genre–Kindle some strange.” NWJ
    8. “Kindle–be your own librarian.”NWJ
    9. “Kindle and i-Pad: brothers with a differnt mother.”NWJ
    10.”Kindle= e-th(ink).NWJ
    11.”Quote the Kindle ever more.”NWJ
    12.”Kindle isn’t replacing books; it is books.”NWJ
    13.”Kindle–put Poe in your pocket.”NWJ
    14.”Kindle- a book in a minute; two more and you’re in it.”NWJ
    15.”Kindle-WARNING: May cause verbal enhancement.”NWJ

  2. john says:

    I wonder how long the free 3G access will stay free?

    The new browser is an improvement. If people surf the web more, Amazon has to do something to cover their expenses. On the other hand, the typical Kindle user is pretty much set on reading books for the most part.

    Who knows?

  3. MikeCG says:

    It’s no longer necessary to write about how desirable the Kindle is (or, for that matter, e-readers generally). Books and text and reading are with us to stay; only paper is becoming unnecessary. What we can discuss is how well a device performs its intended task(s), and how it compares to its competition on an absolute basis and for the price.

    My wife and I share a last gen 6″ Kindle and just received a new 6″ display K3. I know, Amazon doesn’t call it that, but how else can users refer to it? In twenty words or less, it is an improvement over an already excellent product. Smaller, but not too small to be held comfortably. Same size display, but sharper and crisper, better contrast. Easy to use, somewhat smaller keyboard that takes a little, but very little, getting used to. It took me a few hours to stop accidentally pressing some neighboring keys, but now using the keyboard is second nature. And the page turning buttons are silent, but have sufficient tactile feedback, excellent feel.

    I found it very easy to duplicate our library from our older Kindle to our new K3, and to activate our home wifi. I don’t like to say I “transferred” our books because that could be understood to mean they were taken from our old Kindle to our new one. I say “duplicate” because they reside on both Kindles. The instruction manual is detailed and somewhat lengthy, but very understandable. (It’s 200 pages, but don’t let that scare you; it’s easy to find the parts you need, and you will never need more than a few pages at one time.) The manual is published on the device, as in the past, and can also be downloaded to your computer as a pdf file so you can read the instructions from your computer as you apply them to the K3.

    If you have wifi at home, which we do, when you are in range of a wifi that you have activated in your K3, it automatically uses that wifi, instead of connecting to the 3G AT&T network, assuming, of course, you have a 3G+wifi K3. It works faster on my home wifi than on the 3G network, so much so that if I had really thought it through before I bought it, or if I were to buy another, I would probably go wifi only and save $50. The only reasons to get the 3G+wifi model would seem to be if you don’t have reliable access to wifi or if you travel a good deal to places that don’t have a lot of wifi access, but do have AT&T connectivity AND you have need to download books or periodicals on a regular basis or without delay while you are away from home or office. If you can plan ahead and stock up on a few good books, and you have reliable access to wifi, such as at home/office, McDonalds or Starbucks, I suggest you think twice about whether you want the 3G+wifi K3, or the wifi only.

    Each K3 has its own email address and you can send documents to it, including Word and pdf docs, and photos. Of course, the photos are B&W, but very detailed and clear. The K3 permits surfing the web, although I haven’t used it much for that purpose and, other than saying it works, I hesitate to pass judgment on how well I think someone who uses it for web browsing would like it.

    I can’t compare it to other dedicated e-readers because I haven’t used them. People seem to be interested in how I think it compares to the iPad, which I don’t own but have “played with” somewhat extensively at the Apple Store. My assessment is that there is no comparison. The iPad will do much more, but as an e-reader I think the K3 is superior. I don’t need color for reading text, the K3 is a fraction of the cost, and its smaller size makes it much more convenient to tote around. However, what kills the iPad as an e-reader, as far as I am concerned, is its weight. I suspect most of us are the same in this regard, but I tend to read for an hour or two at a stretch. A pound and a half doesn’t sound too heavy, but I held an iPad for five minutes, literally, and my hands ached. It is simply too heavy to use as a book reading device, while the K3 is light as a feather. For reading, a cheaper and significantly lighter K3 as a dedicated e-reader is, IMHO, the way to go (compared to an iPad). BTW, a recent (in Aug. 2010) report from Taiwan said Apple in making a 6″ iPod, which, depending on size and weight, could change the equation. It will be interesting to see how the e-reader market develops. I said I can’t compare the K3 to other competitors, and I won’t, but I can say I am completely satisfied with Amazon as an e-book seller. I’ve only had a few occasions to need support (on my old Kindle), but that has also been entirely satisfactory.

    Bottom line: my wife and I both like the K3 very much and recommend it to anyone considering buying an e-reader. I don’t think you will regret buying one, with or without the free 3G.

  4. Joe says:

    The Kindle is my first e-ink reader. I own an iPad, an iPhone, and have owned a Windows-based phone in the past that I used as an ereader.

    My overall impression of the device is good.

    The good:
    I’d honestly rather read linear (read from page one to the end, one page at a time) fiction from it than a book, because I can’t always get…

Leave a Reply

